Diablo 4: Gem Levels & Types

Players can upgrade each Gem up to five levels but you must meet their level requirements. Higher Gem levels provide higher stat buffs.

diablo 4 cover image
Diablo 4: Gem Levels

Gems are upgradable items that enhance your in-game statistics. Combining gems of the same type makes them powerful, giving you more advantage at a lower level in Diablo 4.

Key Takeaways

  • Each Diablo 4 gem can be upgraded up to five times. These upgrade steps are called levels.
  • Gems usually enhance your weapon, armor, and jeweler statistics.
  • They are available in your game after level 15.
  • Visit any jeweler in Sanctuary to interact and exchange three Gems of the same quality to get one Gem of improved quality.
  • In my experience, you will require some amount of Gold and Gems for upgradation.

What Are Gems?

Gems are upgradable items that relate you to the jeweler in Diablo 4. She is an NPC that can improve your weapon and armor statistics. You will see seven different types of gems in-game, each of which will affect your weapon, armor, and jewelry differently. The table below summarizes them all.

Gem TypeWeaponArmorJewelry
Amethyst+Damage over Time+Damage over Time Reduction+Resistance to Shadow
Diamond+Ultimate Damage+Barrier Potency+Resistance to all Elements
Emerald+Damage to Elites+Thorns+Resistance to Poison
Ruby+Resource Generation+Maximum Life+Resistance to Fire
Sapphire+Critical Strike Damage+Damage Reduction when Fortified+Resistance to Cold
Skulls+Life on Kill+Healing received+Armor Stat
Topaz+Lucky Hit chance+Damage Reduction while Control Impaired+Resistance to Lightning

These Gems start appearing in your gameplay after level 15. Moreover, players can collect them by looting dead enemies or opening random chests. They allow you to upgrade your gear to have a better play style and dominate your opponents.

visit jewelers to upgrade gems
All Jeweler locations in Sanctuary | Image Credits: mapgenie

Players can upgrade their gems after they pass level 20. By playing Diablo 4, I found out that you must visit a nearby Jeweler in the big towns of Sanctuary to upgrade your gems. If all the requirements are met, trading with the NPC will upgrade your Gem level. 

Gem Levels

gem levels upgradation
Upgrading Gems at a Jeweler | Captured By: VeryAli Gaming
  • Apart from the seven Gems, each type is connected with five different levels which players can reach if they meet the requirements.
  • In my opinion, the higher your gem level is, the higher your stats will get according to the Gem type. 
  • To increase your Gem level, you must collect at least three Gems of the same quality.
  • Combining these three would take your specific Gem to the next level. However, you must fulfill the level requirement to upgrade Gem.

The table below summarizes all the Gem Levels and their details.

Gem LevelLevel RequirementTransition
Chipped20Three Crude to One Chipped
Standard40Three Chipped to One Standard
Flawless50Three Standard to One Flawless
Royal60Three Flawless to One Royal

As I played Diablo 4, I learned that the High-tier gems are more beneficial than the others. If we talk about weapons, they will increase the damage we deal to any opponent, increasing our odds of winning battles. In armor, they decrease the amount of damage we endure by increasing Resistance and, consequently, our survivability.

My Tips

By playing a lot of Diablo 4, I can confidently say that gems are very important to upgrade. Not only do they make your weapons better, but gems also improve your defense by strengthening your armor. I recommend you invest in them to make your character powerful for late-game activities.

Up Next: 

Was this helpful? 🕹️

Good job! Please give your positive feedback 😏

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. 💡