Final Fantasy 16: All Summons [Eikons]

EIkons, known as Summons in Final Fantasy 16, provide you with extraordinary abilities based on Elements so you can defeat all enemies...

Summons, or Eikons, are powerful beings that inhabit hosts, more widely known as Dominants and allow the host to harness their powers to accomplish their goals through the various plot points. Let’s get started to learn everything about them! 

Key Takeaways

  • There are 10 Eikons, 8 of which are unlockable as Summons, and two present as Boss Fights.
  • Clive can Only Transform into Ifrit and not the other Summons but can harness their power.
  • You can use various fight styles depending on which Summon you are using, and you always have the option to change the Summon as well.

Eikons & Dominants

Most of the powerful Summons in this game are bound to Dominants who show themselves and exhibit their abilities across various points in the main story.

Below, I will list a table that briefly mentions every Summons in the game and the Dominants characters that can host and control these mighty creatures within themselves. 

EikonDominantUnlock Condition
PhoenixJoshua RosfieldMain Quest: Sunrise, Sunset
GarudaBenedikta HarmanMain Quest: Wings of Change
IfritClive RosfieldMain Quest: The Meaning of Life
RamuhCidolfus TelamonMain Quest: Cid the Outlaw
TitanHugo KupkaMain Quest: Capital Punishment
OdinBarnabas TharmrMain Quest: The Last King
ShivaJill WarrickMain Quest: Through the Maelstrom
BahamutDion LesageMain Quest: Fire in the Sky
Titan LostUnknownCannot Be Unlocked
TyphonUnknownCannot Be Unlocked
Summary Table of Summons

Another thing to remember is that since Clive is only the Dominant of Ifrit, that is the only Eikon he can transform into. Clive can only harness other Eikon’s abilities and not transform into them himself.


final fantasy 16 summon phoenix
Phoenix Fight Scene. (Captured by Us)

This infamous mythical creature is one of the two Eikons of Fire in the game that carries many of its iconic traits, such as the ability to rebirth itself and use its flames to burn its foes to a crisp. In addition, it allows you to keep your playstyle aggressive since you can always heal back damage you were punished with.

Below is a list of the abilities that Phoenix provides Clive:

  • Phoenix Shift
  • Heatwave
  • Scarlet Cyclone
  • Rising Flames
  • Flames of Rebirth


final fantasy 16 summon garuda
Garuda Fight Scene. (Captured by Us)

I think when it comes to defense or AOE Damage in combat, Garuda never goes as an exception. The Eikon of Wind specializes in aerial combat, providing you with its mid-air abilities that allow for a more versatile and combo-focused playstyle. This Summon allows you to keep your maneuverability while maintaining a high-paced playstyle amidst combat.

These abilities include:

  • Deadly Embrace
  • Rook’s Gambit
  • Wicked Wheel
  • Gouge
  • Aerial Blast

If you want to know the ideal ones for your character, you can learn more details in Shoaib’s Best Garuda Abilities guide. 


final fantasy 16 summon ifrit
Ifrit Fight Scene. (Captured by Us)

The second Eikon of Fire gives Clive powerful attack abilities and great defensive prowess that helps him hold his own up against any Eikon in any situation. With unbelievable speed, he can catch up to and put off guard any opposing Eikon.

Below is a list of the abilities that Ifrit provides Clive:

  • Will o’ the Wykes
  • Limit Break
  • Ignition

Related Article: Who is Ifrit?


final fantasy 16 summon ramuh
Ramuh Fight Scene. (Captured by Us)

The Eikon of Lightning bestows you with his abilities that hold to their lightning nature in that they provide massive AOE damage to deal with waves of enemies and launch various multi-hit attacks.

Below is a list of the abilities that Ramuh provides:

  • Blind Justice
  • Lightning Rod
  • Thunderstorm
  • Pile Drive
  • Judgment Bolt


final fantasy 16 titan
Titan Fight Scene. (Captured by Us)

I seriously can not emphasize enough how important this can be during the boss battles. The Eikon of Earth has a highly well-balanced kit that allows you to use a more flexible and counter-centric playstyle. On top of this, he also provides some super powerful Earth-style attacks that deal a lot of damage and can send enemies within range flying.

Below is a list of the abilities that Titan provides:

  • Titanic Block
  • Raging Fists
  • Upheaval
  • Windup
  • Earthen Fury


final fantasy 16 summon odin
Odin Fight Scene. (Captured by Us)

Odin is the Eikon of Darkness and perhaps the most fabled name amongst all the Final Fantasy 16 Summons. Odin grants you the mighty powers of darkness that use fierce and deadly attacks.

Furthermore, it uses the Zantetsuken gauge through other abilities before allowing you to unleash its power when using the Arm of Darkness ability.

  • Rift Slip
  • Dancing Steel
  • Gungnir
  • Heaven’s Cloud
  • Arm of Darkness


final fantasy 16 summon shiva
Shiva Fight Scene. (Captured by Us)

Shiva’s abilities of Ice give you a greater depth of abilities to add to your catalog. The Eikon of Ice is known for abilities that leave enemies frozen and provide you immense crowd control over the battlefield.

Along with rendering your enemies immobile, you can chain many combos and abilities to land multiple hits and output vast amounts of damage.

Below is a list of the abilities that Shiva provides Clive:

  • Cold Snap
  • Rime
  • Mesmerize
  • Ice Age
  • Diamond Dust


final fantasy 16 summon bahamut
Bahamut Scene. (Captured by Us)

The Eikon of Light and perhaps the most powerful Summon in the game. Bahamut is known for being in the form of a mythical creature, a Dragon, and is the icon of destruction.

Players using this Summon can expect powerful abilities that meet their expectations. His kit provides a great attack range and a variety of attacks that can cause instantaneous damage and leave deadly, lasting effects.

Below is a list of the abilities that Bahamut provides:

  • Satellite
  • Impulse
  • Flare Breath
  • Wings of Light
  • Gigaflare

Titan Lost

ff16 boss titan lost
Titan Lost Fight Scene. (Captured by Us)

Titan Lost is unavailable as an unlockable Summon in the game and is only present as a boss fight. It’s clear that the fight Clive has with Titan Lost is one of the best ones in the entire game, and the way that the topography of the land changes, as you fight is sure to leave an impression, so don’t miss out on this fight.


ff16 boss typhon
Typhon Fight Scene. (Captured by Us)

Typhon is the only Eikon in the game with no specific element type from which it draws its power and is known as the mysterious Eikon. His eerie appearance and his tough boss fight leave a ghostly impression on players and provide greater depth for the story.

My Experience With Summons

Summons are a great addition to the game that utilizes the characters’ details and enables players to utilize them efficiently for gameplay. My top recommendation are learning what suits your gameplay best and only use those summons that can benefit you in the long run. 

This brings us to the end of our guide on summons. This guide has gone over everything you need to know to make your gameplay flawless and to obtain all the knowledge you need about Summons to traverse the story smoothly.

If you enjoyed this guide, check out some of our other guys, such as the various Final Fantasy 16 Weapons and the Best Armor you can get to help you clear the story as soon as possible.

Was this helpful? 🕹️

Good job! Please give your positive feedback 😏

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. 💡