Fire Emblem Engage’s Difficulty Options Explained

Detailed explanations on Fire Emblem Engage's difficulty options, modes, and the optimium way to play for newcomers and experts.

Fire Emblem Engage's Gameplay

Intelligent System’s latest entry to the Fire Emblem franchise: Engage, is a welcome addition and aims to improve the systems set up by Three Hopes. As for all video games, the goal is to have fun, and enjoyment depends on how complex the game is. Fire Emblem Engage’s difficulty options are Normal, Hard and Maddening. Moreover, players also have to choose between Classic and Casual Mode.

This article will explain each difficulty and mode option and their differences. We’ll also review the optimum setting to select depending on how much time and experience players have.

Key Takeaways

  • There are three difficulty options in Fire Emblem Engage: Normal, Hard and Maddening.
  • Two modes, Classic and Casual, determine whether units die or retreat.
  • Normal difficulty is the most forgiving option with the fewest enemies and damage.
  • Hard difficulty is at the middle of the pack with moderate enemies and damage.
  • Maddening difficulty is the toughest, with the maximum enemies and damage.
  • Both Hard And Maddening have 10 Rewind Charges while Normal has infinite.
  • Fallen Units permanently die in Classic mode but retreat to Somniel in Casual mode.
  • New players are recommended to play on Casual and Normal options.
  • Experienced players should go for Casual and Hard.
  • Veterans should opt to play Classic and Maddening for a significant challenge.

Fire Emblem Engage’s Difficulty Options

On initial startup, Fire Emblem Engage will encourage players to start their playthrough on the Normal setting. While the options may seem confusing at first glance, this is not the case. The differences are superficial and primarily impact battle options and enemies.

Fire Emblem Engage's Difficulty Options
Fire Emblem Engage’s Difficulties

Normal Difficulty

Normal difficulty aims to make Fire Emblem Engage as accessible as possible. Due to the lack of an Easy difficulty option, some players may find Normal too simple. That said, on Normal difficulty, players can expect fewer enemies, lowered enemy damage and infinite rewind charges. Moreover, no tutorials are skipped, and the ability to save between battles is sustained.

Hard Difficulty

The Hard difficulty, the go-to option in Fire Emblem Three Hopes, has been ramped up this time. Playing on Hard, players encounter more enemies, higher damage numbers and 10 rewind charges per battle. Remember that players can still save during battles and access all tutorials. Players will need all the help they can get and should be fitted with Bond Rings as soon as possible.

Maddening Difficulty

The Maddening difficulty, the toughest out of the bunch, pushes players to their limits. Players must deal with the maximum number of enemies and the greatest damage with only 10 rewind charges. Moreover, most tutorials are omitted from the game and saving between battles is no longer possible.

On Maddening difficulty, specific enemies also have additional and arguably more robust skills to utilize in battle. Of all Fire Emblem Engage’s difficulty options, Maddening is the least forgiving. Players must be familiar with all the characters and their stats to succeed.

Fire Emblem Engage Bond Ring
Bond Rings in Fire Emblem

Fire Emblem Engage’s Modes

Apart from the three difficulty options: Normal, Hard and Maddening, players must also choose from two modes. Players can choose between Classic (the original mode in earlier Fire Emblem titles) or Casual mode.

In Casual mode, units fallen during battle will retreat and may be utilized for more battles later on. These units can be found in Somniel resting and available for the next fight.

In Classic mode, units fallen during battle will permanently die and be unable to return for later battles. The only way to save units is by using the limited amount of rewind charges to change the flow of the fight.

Fire Emblem Engage’s Optimum Difficulty/Mode Options

Choosing the correct settings before starting a new playthrough is essential because changing options mid-game is limited. Players can change their difficulty options by going to their bed in Somniel. Keep in mind that players can only change to lower-difficulty options and not higher ones.

The general community consensus is that the Hard Difficulty option is significantly more complex than previous titles. Newer players to the franchise or turn-based combat will struggle immensely with Hard. We recommend playing on the Normal difficulty and Casual mode for absolute beginners.

Higher difficulty options are more suitable for players familiar with turn-based combat and earlier Fire Emblem titles. We recommend playing on Hard difficulty and Casual mode for experienced players’ first playthroughs.

Players that want the absolute most brutal experience will want to play on Maddening and Classic mode. However, this form of playing is difficult to recommend and should only be played by veterans.

Fire Emblem Engage Changing Difficulties
Changing Difficulties in Somniel


Players must spend extra time deciding on Fire Emblem Engage’s difficulty due to the lack of midgame-changing options available. The chosen settings will directly impact how long the game is, how easily trophies are earned, and how much enjoyment players derive. As always, players should go with the option that maximizes enjoyment.

Was this helpful? 🕹️

Good job! Please give your positive feedback 😏

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. 💡