Mortal Kombat 1: How To Unlock Fatalities

Mortal Kombat 1 has a lot of Finishers like Brutalities and Fatalities, so make sure to read this guide to know How To Unlock all of them.

Mortal Kombat 1 How To Unlock Fatalities

Finishing Moves, also called Finishers, make the Mortal Kombat series iconic. These gruesome Brutalities and Fatalities are very graphic but exciting to watch. Moreover, in Mortal Kombat 1, you need to learn how to perform Fatalities and How To Unlock them, as they aren’t unlocked by default.

Key Takeaways

  • Fatalities are Finishing Moves you can perform at the end of a Match in Mortal Kombat 1.
  • Each Character has the first Fatality unlocked by default in Mortal Kombat 1.
  • You need to level each Character to Mastery Level 14 to unlock their second Fatality.
  • You can level up your Character’s Mastery by playing the Campaign, Towers, or Invasion Mode in Mortal Kombat 1.
  • You can perform the second Fatality without unlocking it if you know its Input.

What Are Fatalities?

Mortal Kombat 1 How To Unlock Fatalities
You can view both Brutalities and Fatalities for each Character (Captured by Us)

Fatalities are special finishing moves that can be performed right before the end of a match to execute your opponent brutally.

You can perform Fatalities in Mortal Kombat 1 when your opponent’s health bar is completely depleted. Furthermore, the Announcer will say “Finish Him” or “Finish Her,” depending on the enemy’s gender. At this point, you can perform a normal attack to get the match over with. Otherwise, you can perform a unique set of inputs to execute a Fatality Finisher.

Every Character in Mortal Kombat 1 has unique Fatalities. In addition, each has gory animations and inputs that must be executed with the utmost precision. There isn’t any merit to performing a Fatality since you can only perform Fatalities after beating your opponent. However, the appeal of brutally splitting your opponent in half after a hard-won match is unparalleled.

Unlock Fatalities

You can see what you’ll unlock as you level up a Character on the Mastery Screen (Captured by Us)

All characters in Mortal Kombat 1 have multiple Fatalities. However, the first Fatality is unlocked by default, so you can get a taste of performing the mechanic. Furthermore, the process is quite simple if you’re wondering How To Unlock more Fatalities in Mortal Kombat 1. All you need to do is level up your Character’s Mastery.

You can level your Mastery through the Campaign, Invasion Mode, or Towers. You unlock your second Fatality upon reaching Mastery Level 14. From there, you can view the unlocked Fatality and practice how to perform it. Unfortunately, you need to play and level up each Character’s Mastery individually, which can be time-consuming.

Are Fatalities Worth Unlocking?

Since Fatalities are more or less a cosmetic unlock, there is no issue about the game being pay-to-win. Moreover, you can get other Mastery Rewards as you level up, which can act as a slight dopamine boost toward getting the Fatality Reward. Fatalities are a nice little reward for putting time into the game and getting a chance to show other people your skills when you finally get them.

On the other hand, if you know the Input for the second Fatality, you can perform it without needing to unlock anything. You can skip getting Master Level 14 if you only care about performing the Fatality. This could be considered cheating, but the system teaches you to perform the Fatality, so it’s not bad.

That explains everything about How To Unlock Fatalities in Mortal Kombat 1. If you enjoyed this guide, then be sure to check out some of the other guides on our website. Furthermore, consider bookmarking this website and subscribing to our Newsletter to get the latest updates regarding Mortal Kombat 1 and other upcoming games.

Was this helpful? 🕹️

Good job! Please give your positive feedback 😏

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. 💡